Dec 28, 2015

Monday Dec 28

Most of the Christmas flury is over.  like most I ate too much, especially sweets,  and kept a few late nights which I yet  have to recover from. I am well pleased to report that my experience of revival has continued through the season,  little diminished.  I had a couple of really sweet experiences where i was so blessed in the lord. Each year I cherish taking in the performance of Handel’s Messiah. It is my one Christmas tradition that i consider non negotiable and for some reason, perhaps because of revival,  Christmas came and went and I didn’t even think about it.  That is until the evening of the 26 when i joined with the Hakkinen family for their Christmas dinner. After dinner we had an impromptu performance by their boys on piano and guitar and their father on slide trombone.  It was great. It nourished my soul and filled up that place that is normally reserved for Handel’s Messiah. The Lord is so sweet and faithful.  I attended church at Wildwood chapel on Sunday.  Its a very cute little a frame chapel located in the wilderness not far from where I live.  I know the pastor there and several of the congregants so I felt at home.  The sermon which was on God’s commas was very encouraging.  When we think that we have encountered a period in our life, we find that God has merely placed a comma and there is more, much more to come. I was especially blessed when we sang the Christmas carol written by Charles Wesley , Come thou long expected Jesus.  I never tire of Charles Wesley’s songs.   I am continuing to memorize hymns in preparation for Revival preaching and as well have finished memorizing Hebrews ch 12.   Am speaking to a men’s group on Jan 2 and am planning to sing several hymns interspersed with speaking.   Last night i downloaded the Welsh Revival Hymn ” Here is love, vast as an ocean.  It is a powerful hymn.  It is called the love hymn of the Welsh revival. This hymn will become a core hymn in my repertoire.  This is the second verse of this beautiful hymn.

2. On the mount of crucifixion,
Fountains opened deep and wide;
Through the floodgates of God’s mercy
Flowed a vast and gracious tide.
Grace and love, like mighty rivers,
Poured incessant from above,
And Heav’n’s peace and perfect justice
Kissed a guilty world in love.

I started writing an allegory about revival last week. I am finding it difficult to finish, perhaps it is a spiritual battle.  i need to pray thru on this.  It is quite a long allegory and will be published in at least three sections.  Lord give me the grace to hang in there

A lovely little aspect of my experience of revival is sharing the sauna with my host Henry.  He has a wood fired sauna built on a trailer and at least twice a week and often more we fire her up and enjoy the intense heat together.  It is invariably a great time of communion as we discuss matters of faith and revival and prayer and the manifestation of the Holy Spirit. Often we are joined by his wife and she shares her insights and wisdom as well,  both challenging me and encouraging in my pursuit of revival, keeping my feet to the fire, as it were .  I so appreciate them and their love and the goodness of the Lord in bringing us together.

 

Leave a Reply

