The wide and flowing river.

As I was in prayer the lord gave me an image of my life , as a wide and dry river bottom. The clay in the river bottom was cracked and dry and it appeared as if no water was flowing at all.  As I walked across this river bottom in my imagination,  I came to a small creek flowing down the center of this expanse.  What is this I asked the lord. He replied, this is your faith, that has never stopped flowing.  I was grateful for the little creek, though it was so very small.    I asked the Lord , where has all the water gone.  He replied much of it was lost through dissipation,  ebbing out thru the cracks of sin and unbelief in my life, and that I had stopped up the springs that used to supply the river.   I surveyed the wide dry river bed, and  I thought of the Aral  sea in Russia, which, once was a immense inland sea, but through indiscriminate use of it for irrigation is has been massively reduced. Great freighters which used to  plow that sea, now sit high and dry on the baked clay.  Communities which used make their living from that sea are now abandoned

“Formerly one of the four largest lakes in the world with an area of 68,000 km2 (26,300 sq mi), the Aral Sea has been steadily shrinking since the 1960s after the rivers that fed it were diverted by Soviet irrigation projects. By 2007, it had declined to 10% of its original size, splitting into four lakes.”  ( wikepedia )

It is a sad image of what happens to us  when the rivers which God has intended to feed us are diverted and stopped.

I wondered can this river flow again from bank to bank and support the life and industry that only such a river can support and into my heart came a determination that this river shall flow again.  Like the image of the valley of dry bones in Ezekiel,  yes these bones can live again and this river can flow again, from bank to bank and even overflow and flood the valley .

This is what revival is.  The rivers of individual lives,  increasing and flooding like the spring freshets, until not only is the church flooded but so also are the communities in which we live.  It really does not come from above but from within,  for the kingdom of God is within us.

I thought about the springs that supply such a river.  The word of God, of course is perhaps the most important spring,  but I thought, how abundantly must this spring flow to fill up that great river bed.  Can I fill myself up with the word off God to such an extent that  a torrent will flow into my river.  I sensed the spirit saying yes Jack, you can do that.   I have already been memorizing chapters of the Bible,  can i now memorize books.   I have never before imagined such a thing.   But I so want that great river bed to covered by pure flowing water.

I thought about how important fellowship is to filling up such a river, and of the many wonderful people God has put into my life.  I thought of  Eugene Dagneau, and men’s group he leads the Carpenter Sons, and how important his love and their support was as I dealt with my divorce.  I thought about David Greenhagh, and John Mcgowen  and the Men of Mission group that they lead and how it was there for me as I dealt with the  devastating diagnosis of Bi-polar, and eventually found grace to overcome it. Without them I am sure I would not have had the faith and confidence I needed to do that.   I thought  about how consistently loving and supportive these men have been and how much I owe to them. That little creek of faith would not be flowing if not for these dear men and I owe them a great debt of gratitude.  I went on to realize that for this river to be flowing again how important these men still are to me, and how urgently and earnestly  I need to love them and support what they are doing in return.

I thought about the springs of prayer.  Since being revived I have been steadfast in prayer, spending often two hours or more per day in prayer and intercession.  Can this spring increase even more. I believe it can. Jesus said if you believe, you can say to this mountain be thou removed, and it shall removed and  cast into the sea.  Time spent in prayer is meaningful but God looks at the heart, and it is the faith and the focus of prayer that is most effectual.  This image of the dry river bed has given me a clear objective for which to pray.  I am not now praying for revival in general I am praying specifically for all the springs in my life to break loose and flow abundantly into the river of my life.  And I am praying that no water shall be lost again, thru any kind of dissipation.

I love rivers.To me they are grand images of Gods life flowing in us. The apostle John had a vision of the  river of life flowing out from the throne of God, John 22:1. Then he showed me a river of the water of life, clear as crystal, coming from the throne of God and of the Lamb, 2in the middle of its street. On either side of the river was the tree of life, bearing twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit every month; and the leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations.…

I believe that, if Jesus truly sits enthroned in my life, that out from that throne will flow a river of the water of life, clear as crystal, and that on either side of that river will be the tree of life, bearing twelve kinds of fruit and its leaves will be for the healing of the nations.

This is revival, Christ being enthroned in our hearts, and our lives flowing with his purity, love and power .

Lord Jesus, forgive me for stopping up the springs of life that flow into my river. Forgive me for entertaining sin and vanity in my life, allowing your precious lavish grace to be so lost that i had become hard and barren.  Restore your great river Lord. Open up these springs of life.  By your lavish grace, pour your love, your mercy and your word into my heart and soul. Fill me with the vision of your purpose for my life,  and of the beauty and glory of your church.  Fill me with a new vision of you.  In the name of Jesus , amen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

