Singing Grace.

When asked to say grace at a meal I prefer to sing,  and most often have sung the old chestnut,  the chorus to  Johney Appleseed.    which goes as follows.

Oh, the Lord’s been good to me.
And so I thank the Lord
For giving me the things I need:
The sun, the rain and the appleseed;
Oh, the Lord’s been good to me.    Johney Appleseed  amen.
Today I wrote this song   Your Blessing Lord  to sing for grace,

We thank you Lord for everyone here gathered                                                                                    We thank you Lord for all the love each brings                                                                                   We thank you Lord for the bread upon the table                                                                                We thank you Lord we have a song to sing

Your blessing Lord is all that really matters.                                                                                     Your blessing Lord on all of us who dine                                                                                          Please bless this food upon our humble table.                                                                                 Your blessing Lord turns water into wine                                                                                             Your blessing Lord turns water into wine

May it be a blessing to your and yours

Jack

 

 

2 thoughts on “Singing Grace.

  1. Hi, Jack….How delightful ! I think that I would rather ‘sing’ a blessing on the food, than ‘say’ one! Went to YouTube and listened to the Johnny Appleseed blessing song sung by a happy family~~Thank-You PS: Hope that you are doing well! Judy

  2. Hi Judy my wife and I once had the pleasure of being invited to the breakfast of an Old Colony Mennonite family. Besides all the food being home made, they sang a hymn for grace, in four part harmony, each with their own hymnbook replete with the shape note system. It was so sweet and memorable. blessings Jack

Leave a comment